Great Stories (Montessori)

by 01 Aug 2023Glossary

Great Stories (Montessori)

The Great Stories, also known as the Five Great Lessons, are a distinctive part of the Montessori curriculum for children aged 6-12[1]. These narratives aim to instill a sense of wonder about the universe and to provide a broad context to stimulate exploration and learning.

The five Great Stories include:

  • The Story of the Universe: This is an overview of the formation of the universe, Earth, and life, aiming to spark interest in physics, chemistry, astronomy, and earth sciences.
  • The Coming of Life: This story narrates the evolution of life on Earth, from single-celled organisms to the arrival of human beings, encouraging interest in biology and geology.
  • The Coming of Humans: This story introduces the concept of human prehistory and early civilizations, inspiring interest in archaeology, anthropology, and history.
  • The Story of Writing: This narrative examines the development of written language, stimulating interest in linguistics, history, and art.
  • The Story of Numbers: This story reviews the development of our number system and mathematics, igniting interest in mathematics and history.


Montessori Quotes on Great Stories

“It is not enough for the teacher to love the child. She must first love and understand the universe. She must prepare herself, and truly work at it.”
— Maria Montessori, “The Absorbent Mind”